5th Annual MOVE LA Transportation Conversation – Friday, 2/1/13 @ Union Station

5th Annual MOVE LA

 Transportation Conversation


 Move LA’s annual transportation conversation is a gathering of the business-labor-environmental coalition and our government partners to chart the way forward in 2013. Without Measure J and redevelopment, local governments need new tools to accelerate transit and the production and preservation of housing that is affordable, as well as the infrastructure that will make neighborhoods walkable and bikeable, prosperous and healthy. And there are new tools in development: We are working with Congress on America Fast Forward bonds to accelerate transit, and with the state Legislature on lowering the local voter threshold to make it easier to win funding for neighborhoods. There’s Cap and Trade funding in the offing, a possible vehicle license fee surcharge to help implement green neighborhood infrastructure, SB 1 to reinvent redevelopment around transit, a national infrastructure bank, public private partnerships and LA Mayor Villaraigosa’s Transit Corridors Cabinet. This day-long conversation involves a large cast of community and government partners. Join us! Register now! Free if you arrive by bike (there will be a bike valet). And free if you come after 1 p.m.

 Register now at http://www.movela.org!

 Avancemos! Move LA forward!

           Registration (8:00 am)

 Welcome (8:30 am)
Marlene Grossman, Move LA Leadership Board Chair
Denny Zane, Executive Director, Move LA

                       Morning Keynote (8:45 am)
Robbie Hunter, State Building & Construction Trades Council of California
The Next Step for  LA’s Transit Revolution: A View from Sacramento 

 Post Measure J:  Big Picture Politics of Money for Transportation (9:10 am)
Denny Zane, Move LA — Framer & Moderator
What’s the next step to accelerating Measure R?
·      How real are the federal opportunities: America Fast Forward Bonds? National Infrastructure Development Bank?

·      With the State in the black, are there new opportunities: 55% voter threshold? Vehicle License Fee surcharge? Cap & trade funds?

·      What about CA High Speed Rail?      

Assemblymember Bob Blumenfield, Los Angeles
Maria Elena Durazo, Secretary-Treasurer, LA County Federation of Labor
Richard Katz, Metrolink Board Chair, LA Metro Board
Art Leahy, CEO, LA Metro
Mary Leslie, President, LA Business Council
Adriano Martinez, Staff Attorney, Natural Resources Defense Council
Ron Miller, Executive Secretary, LA & Orange Counties Building and Construction Trades Council Tracy Rafter, LA County Business Federation
Gary Toebben, CEO, LA Area Chamber of Commerce

 Making the Transit Revolution Real and Fair (10:20 am)
Beth Steckler, Move LA – Moderator
·      What are the tools we need to make the transit revolution real and fair in LA County and how do we get them?

·      What are the strategies to increase housing opportunities for core transit users, to facilitate walking and cycling, and to pay for bus and rail operations?

Rye Baerg, SoCal Policy Manager, Safe Routes to School National Partnership
Autumn Bernstein, Executive Director, ClimatePlan
Raffi Hamparian, Director of Federal Affairs, LA Metro
Madeline Janis, National Policy Director, LA Alliance for a New Economy (LAANE)       
Joan Ling, Real Estate Advisor and Urban Planning Policy Analyst
Hilary Norton, FAST (Fixing Angelenos Stuck in Traffic)
Kevin Ratner, Forest City
Tunua Thrash, West Angeles Community Development Corporation
Michael Turner, State Affairs, LA Metro

 Los Angeles County Supervisor Zev Yaroslavsky (11:30 am)
Keynote: Big Lessons from LA’s Transit Revolution

 Lunch (noon)

 Invocation: Rabbi Diamond
Senate Pro Tem Darrell Steinberg (12:30 pm)
Keynote: Sacramento’s Contribution to LA’s Transit Revolution

 Dr. Robert Cervero (1:00 pm)
Lessons for LA from Successful Cities around the World & LA’s Potential

             Afternoon topics
Gloria Ohland and Denny Zane, Move LA – Moderators

 William Roschen, President, LA Planning Commission (1:30 pm)
The “DNA” of Transit Corridors

 Priorities for the Mayor’s Transit Corridors Cabinet
Michael LoGrande, Director LA City Planning Department
Mercedes Marquez, General Manager, LA Housing Department and Deputy Mayor for Housing
Jaime de la Vega, General Manager, LA Department of Transportation
Valerie Lynn Shaw, LA Board of Public Works Commissioner
Mel Wilson, LA Metro Board
Cal Hollis, LA Metro

Cecilia Estolano, ELP Advisors
Paul Habibi, Habibi Properties/UCLA Anderson School of Management
Dr. Manuel Pastor, Program for Environmental & Regional Equity (PERE), USC
Amanda Eaken, NRDC
Thomas Yee, Little Tokyo Services Center

                                   Comments from audience

  Adjourn to Reception in Honor of LA City Councilman Bill Rosendahl.  (3:30 pm)
Fred Harvey Room.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.